January 2009

Ask Admiral Growler (Continued)
ANDROMEDANS

- by Mike Filsinger

Scott Tenhoff asks: If I have an Andromedan Sat Base (or bigger) located on a planet, what are its PA arcs? Normally a base's shields on a planet are split between 2 or 3 firing arcs (depending on the location on the planet). With an Andromedan Base are all PA Panels combined to shield the 180° arc, or are they split to cover a 90° arc. For example the RH panels protecting the left 90° arc, the FH panels protecting the right 90° arc, and if you are directly center-lined (above the base) both apply.

ANSWER: You have to follow (P2.73) where possible. Obviously the Satellite Base (R10.12) with only two PA panel banks would combine them into a single 180° arc. The Desecrator (R10.7) and Battlestation (R10.30), both of which have six panel banks, would operate as any Galactic base with six shields. The Andromedan Base Station (R10.29) is a unique case as normally half of its PA panels are only available for the transfer of energy from its two facing panel banks, so operationally only two of its panel banks can be combined (Banks 1-6 and 19-24), and would be combined as a single panel bank. The two inner banks would also be combined, but would otherwise operate normally under the rules for the Base Station.

Follow-up question: If I transport from an Andromedan ship to an Andromedan, ship can I transport directly into a Satellite Ship within another ship? Can I beam crew from a SatB to a Cobra inside an Intruder? This is so I can "launch" the Cobra the next impulse through the Intruder's Transporters or DisDev.

ANSWER: Technically, no unit outside the Intruder would have lock-on to the Cobra, so you could not beam directly. Furthermore, as a technicality, (D10.524) would prevent the Intruder from making a simultaneous transfer, since both the target and destination must use their transporters as part of the operation.

Follow-up question: Can the Andromedans use their X-Technology from Captain's Log #18, to refit a ship with an XP refit (CL#31) and gain their advantages? I was just wondering if the Andromedans can use the XP-refit in Captain's Log #31, it does not say they cannot, and the only rules for X-Andromedan technology are in Captain's Log #18. For example, for PA Panels, their phaser upgrades (to phaser-1s), and etc. I am assuming the costs for an XP-Shield Refit to upgrade the PA Panels are doubled. Normal Phaser-upgrade costs. TR upgrading the same as Photons (for TRLs) and possibly PL-S->PL-M for a TRH.

ANSWER: XP Refits are not currently available to the Andromedans, not even conjecturally. You might try writing an article on how to combine the X-Technology Andromedan rules in Captain's Log #18 with the XP refits, and submitting it to ADB for future publication. Creating such a rule is not something that can be done in the question and answers page.

Robert Eddy asks: Question on the Andromeda WW SSU. If an Andromean ship is tractored by an enemy ship but can use transporters to launch the WW SSU and activates it. What happens to the tractor link? One would assume it is broken since a ship protected by a Wild Weasel cannot be tractored.

ANSWER:
According to (G35.522), the Andromedan must at the time of activation satisfy all requirements of a ship using a weasel, or else the decoy is voided. Since one of those requirements is that the ship not be held in a tractor beam, I would have to say that the decoy is voided and the tractor is unbroken.


Back